Skip to main content

Principal Investigator



Eran Dayan, Ph.D.

Eran is an Associate Professor in the Department of Radiology, and a faculty member at the Biomedical Research Imaging Center.  Before joining UNC-Chapel Hill in 2016 he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

Email: eran_dayan(at)


Postdoctoral Fellows and Graduate Students

Belfin RV, Ph.D.

Belfin obtained his PhD in Computer Science and Engineering from Karunya Deemed University. His research interests include network science, network neuroscience and machine learning.




William Stanford, B.S.

William has undergraduate degrees in Neuroscience and Math from the University of Texas at Dallas. He is a second year graduate student in the Neuroscience Curriculum of the Biological and Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. Program. William is studying mechanisms by which the brains of individuals are differentially impacted in aging and neurodegenerative disease. He’s also interested in the application of deep learning to build generative models of the brain to further characterize these mechanisms. In collaboration with Dr. Peter Mucha (Darmouth).

Undergraduate Students

Samya Potlapalli

Samya is a senior at UNC-Chapel Hill majoring in Computer Science.


Lotem Efrat

Lotem is a sophomore at UNC-Chapel Hill majoring in Biostatistics.

Lab Alumni


Sandra Alvarez, B.S. Rotation PhD Student (BCB/BBSP) 2018
Nil Aygun, B.S., M.Sc. Rotation PhD Student (BCB/BBSP) 2019
Arianna Casconne, B.S.
Rotation PhD Student (Neuro/BBSP) 2019
Kevin Chen, B.S.
Undergraduate Student
Oscar Fawcett
Undergraduate Student 2022-2023
Joseph Flesch
Undergraduate Student 2021
Shivam Gandhi
Undergraduate Student 2020-2022
Evert Garcia-Guzman, B.S.
Graduate Research Assistant 2022
Solomie Ghebreegzabheir, B.S.
Summer MD Student
Keerti Kalluru
Undergraduate Student 2019-2021
Kichang Kwak, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow 2019-2022
Stephanie Langella, Ph.D.
Graduate Student 2019-2021
Monica Lyons, B.S.
Rotation MD/PhD Student (MD/PhD Program) 2020
Paige Leonhardt, B.S. Undergraduate Student 2017-2018
Deontae Pharr, B.S., M.S.
Rotation PhD Student (Neuro/BBSP) 2022
Haley Prakke, B.S
Undergraduate Student 2019-2021
Celia Rousseau, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Fellow 2017-2018
Marc Rudolph, B.S.
Graduate Research Assistant
Usman Sadiq, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow 2019-2021
Chia-Hao Shih, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Fellow 2017-2019
Na-Young Shin, M.D., Ph.D.
Visiting Scholar
Amber Tang, B.S. Undergraduate Student
Josh Thomas, B.S Undergraduate Student 2018-2019
Alice Woolard, B.S
Rotation PhD Student (Neuro/BBSP) 2020-2021